Microsoft .net Framework: All Versions Explained

Microsoft .net Framework

Microsoft .net framework is a framework application which provides the bridging for programming languages and windows operating system. It is the common layer which includes libraries, definitions, code compatibility, language compatibility and much more. It is installable on every Microsoft Windows Operation System.

Microsoft .net framework allows the applications to play with each other and with operating system with the help of interoperability function of .net framework.

Microsoft .net framework also allows integrating different technologies for the best solution. It also provides the framework for development with different technologies. Following are the versions of .net framework:

  1. Version 1.0
  2. Version 1.1
  3. Version 2.0
  4. Version 3.0
  5. Version 3.5
  6. Version 4.0

Version 1.0:

 This was the very first version of .net framework and it was released under 1.0.3705.0 version number, it was not built-in for any windows operating system. Its released date was February, 13 2002. However this version was without Oracle data provider, so users have to download it separately from Microsoft website.

Version 1.1:

It is first upgraded .net framework launched by Microsoft. It was the first version which was shipped with Microsoft operating system i.e. Windows Server 2003. Its launching date was April 03, 2003 and ending date was October 14, 2008. The major difference with version 1.0 was its shipment with windows operating system.

Version 2.0:

It was launched as re-distributable package available at Microsoft website. It was launched with MS SQL Server 2005 & Visual Studio 2005. It was totally supportive for Win 98 & Win Me. The major comparison with version 1.0 is, its 64-bit support, SQL integration, much enhanced ASP.Net controls and much more. Actually this version is strongly recommended for all kind of .net framework users.

Version 3.0:

It was full version released on November 21, 2006. It was having some parts of Win Server 2008 and Win Vista. There were four enhancements in this version i.e. work flow, communication foundation, presentation foundation, and CardSpace for windows. These all newly functions were responsible to provide better communication and transformation of data locally and remotely, integration of all transactions and much more. This version also included CLR i.e. Common Language Runtime.

Version: 3.5:

It provides many new and best features with some enhancement over previous version. It was updated version and was released on November 19, 2007. The major difference with previous version is that it is not shipped with Win Server 2008 not even included with it. It also included all features of CLR 2.0 and .net framework 2.0 Service Pack 1. It was helping in windows performance with faster and better startup.

Version 4.0:

It was released on September 29, 2009 with lot of enhancements. It provides full support to parallel, computing a function of distributed and multicore systems. Its beta version was released in October 2009. It was best with base class library. It was supportive for file mapping and numeric data. Languages like C and V.B were best with this version. It provides the best data modeling by Microsoft .net framework ever launched. Version 4.0 was launched with best control of HTML, filters for queries.

Regards Sharath Reddy

Related Blogs