The Raid levels benefits of all

Asked By 0 points N/A Posted on -

Here is an other question Can any expert even help me about the benefits of the RAID levels in cloud computing

Best Answer by Sharath Reddy
Answered By 0 points N/A #82110

The Raid levels benefits of all



The benefits of RAID levels in cloud computing are :

RAID 0 : It only improves the overall performance but the performance related to reliability is zero.

RAID 1 : The high level of data is protected but it is very expensive which requires huge investments

RAID 5 : It provides the benefit of RAID 0 with some additional benefit Fault tolerance .This feature makes the RAID 5 special

RAID 6 : It Provides speed of RAID 0 with some additional fault tolerance and it requires more disks in the set than RAID 5

RAID 10 : It  Provides speed of RAID 0 with high fault-tolerance and it requires investment in mirror sets.

RAID 50 : It provides speed of RAID 0 without large investment in mirrored sets  but also it provides some fault tolerance 



Best Answer
Best Answer
Answered By 573055 points N/A #82111

The Raid levels benefits of all


RAID actually stands for Redundant Array of Independent [or Inexpensive] Disks. This is the disk drive category where it uses two or more combination of drives for performance and fault tolerance. These types are usually used on servers and on the other hand not really required on ordinary desktop computers.

RAID enables the storing of data redundantly, in various paces, to improve the general storage performance but in a balanced way. There are different levels of RAID starting from level 1 up to level 5. But this was before when it was first introduced by Garth Gibson, David Patterson, and Randy Katz in 1987 in their landmark research paper.

Today, more levels are being defined which are already above five levels. Here are several of the RAID levels:

  • Level 0 – Striped Disk Array lacking Fault Tolerance – This offers data striping or the process of spreading out or the distribution of blocks of every file across numerous disk drives. This level doesn’t offer fault tolerance but will improve performance. The bad news is, if one drive fails all are lost in the array.
  • Level 1 – Mirroring and Duplexing – This offers disk mirroring. This level offers double read rate of single disks and similar write rate as single disks.
  • Level 2 – Error-Correcting Coding – This level stripes data at bit level instead of block level.
  • Level 3 – Bit-Interleaved Parity – This level is rarely used and offers byte – level striping.

Login/Register to Answer

Related Questions