Raid Level Conversion from Raid Group 5 to 10 ?

Asked By 0 points N/A Posted on -

I am using Dell R900 Server and configured with Raid Level 5, Installed OS is Windows 2008 R2. Server was initially installed for Oracle , Oracle is installed now, DBA recommended Raid group was 10.

How can I change convert running server from Raid 5 to 10.


Answered By 0 points N/A #92692

Raid Level Conversion from Raid Group 5 to 10 ?


The DELL Servers have the ability to create RAID 0, 1, 5, 6 and 10 using the hardware controller. As you told, your Dell R900 Server configured with Raid Level 5. In this case, you have to reconfigure BIOS by using “PERC/CERC 6/i BIOS Configuration Utility.”

At the start up window, press Ctrl-R to launch the PowerEdge Expandable RAID Controller. This will launch the PERC 6/i Integrated BIOS Configuration Utility.

Select the default selection ‘VD Mgmt’ (Virtual Disk Management) from the three TABs on the top.

Follow the onscreen instruction to update volume from Raid Level 5 to Raid Level 10.

The new disk configuration is now complete and available at the OS Level.

You can refer this tutorial, for more details.

Login/Register to Answer

Related Questions