N/APosted on - 09/16/2014
My friend deactivated his facebook account and was not using it for about two months but once he logged into his account again , he could start from where he left off. Is this the same for every social networking site or is there any duration of time when it will delete your account if not used like sim cards? If so what is the maximum period of time during which if an account is not used it gets deleted. And if such an account gets deleted where does the photos, messages and other data go? Do they get deleted permanently too?
What happens to facebook and gmail accounts if one doesn’t use the
Hi Cruz, there are two options in Facebook that a user can avail. Just in case he wants to change his mind he can opt for the account deactivation in Facebook. This is just like putting a temporary filter in your account, wherein your account information, photos etc will be temporarily masked from the site. But all the information are still stored in a specific server in Facebook and is still available for you to reactivate anytime that you want. So in case you want to go back to the social site, all the information are still intact. Just what happened to your friend. The other option, the drastic one, is permanent Deletion. The first step is you need to still log in to your account. Then forward a request to Facebook for permanent deletion. This will delete all your information, data, pictures and so on. As for deactivation due to inactivity, Facebook or other social sites, including mail servers like Google mail will not delete your account for long years of non-usage. They remain active for years or centuries.