Deleting a file completely without sending to Recycle Bin

Asked By 0 points N/A Posted on -
qa-featured

Am I able to delete a file completely without sending it to the Recycle Bin? I understand that the point of this is so I do not accidentally delete any unwanted files, but there are sensitive work files that sometimes I just need to delete and I don't want to forget to delete them out of the Recycle Bin. Thanks for your help.

SHARE
Answered By 5 points N/A #181483

Deleting a file completely without sending to Recycle Bin

qa-featured

Yes of course, you can delete a file completely without sending it to the Recycle Bin by simply following these steps,

  • Go to start >> right click on the Recycle bin >> properties >> select "Do not move the files to the Recycle Bin" >> ok
  • After this setting change, all the deleted files would not move to the Recycle Bin.

Furthermore, it is also possible to permanently delete the files separately through these steps,

  • Select the file >> press Shift & Del key at the same time >> confirm the deletion by selecting yes.

Best Regards!

Answered By 590335 points N/A #326978

Deleting a file completely without sending to Recycle Bin

qa-featured

If you have sensitive files on your computer that you need to delete immediately and completely without going to the Recycle Bin, it is possible by changing the setting of the Recycle Bin. This is the same case when you delete a file or folder that is too big to fit in the Recycle Bin.

In Windows, when you delete a folder that is very big, by default, Windows deletes that folder permanently if it is too big to fit in the Recycle Bin. But if the allotted size or space for the Recycle Bin is still big enough to hold the big folder, Windows will not delete it permanently but instead will store it in the Recycle Bin.

This is a good way to restore files you have deleted before when you need it. On the other hand, if you want to delete a file or folder permanently regardless of their size without going to the Recycle Bin, the solution is to adjust the setting of the bin. On your desktop, right-click the Recycle Bin and select “Properties”.

In the properties window, select the drive to which you want to apply the setting. Next, under “Settings for selected location”, select “Don’t move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted.” If you want to be prompted each time you delete something, check “Display delete confirmation dialog”. When you are finished, click “OK”.

Login/Register to Answer

Related Questions