Who deleted files from shared folders

Asked By 10 points N/A Posted on -
qa-featured

I share important files working with my colleagues and always someone deletes them after they copy on their computer, then all those who go after him, find nothing.

and sometimes it's the original documents, so I lose them also.

 

is there a possibility to find out who deleted a those file fromthe shared folders?

SHARE
Best Answer by greg12305
Best Answer
Best Answer
Answered By 0 points N/A #110692

Who deleted files from shared folders

qa-featured

If you are working on the same computer and you keep things in the shared folders then you can't detect. If that computer has multiple users, then it is impossible to know who did that. But there's one way you can recover that file if it has been deleted or you can recover it even if its not in recycle bin. For that you have to install a software called "recuva". This software is easily available on website for free. Just install it and then open the "recuva" type the exact filename, search on the drive your file was before. Or you can search the whole computer too. It may take some time but its obvious you'll get it.

On the other hand, if you are sharing computer with other computer, then you can detect the other computer.  Again multiple computers on the network maybe an obstacle again on detecting the specified person.

SO, my suggestion would be to use "recuva" on the main computer in which the file was use to be.

Thanks.

Answered By 0 points N/A #110693

Who deleted files from shared folders

qa-featured
  • If you are sharing on LAN and you have a folder with full permissions then anyone from network can change you files and also can delete them, in this case you can not take any action and you have to arrange new ones. But it can not be deleted after you change the rights of users. Your users are the persons to whom you are delivering data you can set permissions on such shared folder these permissions allows users to either see or write or delete files from computer once these permissions are set on a specific computer then no one can change the files or delete them they just can see the files. But if you even want to give modify option then you can give this also. But not the delete option and it will solve your problem.
  • To check who delete your files you can see different PCs recycle bin to recover your document. If you are using a server then it may be possible to locate in your active directory. So you can check it also. I think it will help you a lot to solve your problem.

Login/Register to Answer

Related Questions