Warning:suspected phishing site in FaceBook

Asked By 10 points N/A Posted on -
qa-featured

Hello Buddies,

This morning a friend of mine in facebook send me a link in my chat box using my opera browser requesting me to open it and like the page. As I clicked the link, promptly a message appeared on it saying that it is a suspected phishing site. Why is it so?

Warning: Suspected 

phishing site

The website at traffic-exchange.ru has been reported as "phishing site". Phishing trick users into disclosing personal or financial information, often by pretending to represent trusted institutions, such as banks.

 
SHARE
Best Answer by Kel Thuzard
Best Answer
Best Answer
Answered By 0 points N/A #122545

Warning:suspected phishing site in FaceBook

qa-featured

Jaypee, the warning you see is helping you from being involve in phishing.  Phishing is defined as identity theft, which means that it uses fake information to the victim. Firefox has built in malware and phishing protection that is enabled on default. Your browser offers you choices on what you can do with that detection. The detected site will automatically block when you press back to safety and can go online safe again. If you continue, your information and credentials will be expose to the site. You must not continue if your browser detects any phishing site you surf, may browser has now build in protection and can detect the site easily. Now you know what to do, then continue using the web safely. Enjoy.

Answered By 0 points N/A #122546

Warning:suspected phishing site in FaceBook

qa-featured

Hello Jaypee.

Most browsers today, have a security feature that detects known scam sites.  Starting with Opera 9.5, if you browse to any site that has a record of phishing or distributing malware it will immediately notify you that the site is potentially dangerous.  I suggest you follow what the warning says and do not browse the site.

As to how you got that link from a Facebook friend, I suspect it wasn't intentionally sent to you by your friend.  Malware is fairly common in Facebook.  Sometimes it masquerades as a link to a photo or video with a catchy title.  Anyone who clicks the link will unknowingly share that link to all his friends spreading the malware.  You are lucky your browser was able to warn you.  As a precaution, do not go about  indiscriminately clicking links shared by your "friends" whether it be E-mail, instant messaging, or social networking sites.

Login/Register to Answer

Related Questions