Upgrading my Netgear DGN 1000 with custom firmware?

Asked By 60 points N/A Posted on -
qa-featured

I have a Netgear DGN 1000 router and I want to upgrade its firmware. If I upgrade using the original firmware, it's okay. But I have modified the original firmware, because of a "short-range" bug in MIMO technology.

However when I try to upload it to the router it gives me the error saying that my upgrade file is not the right version nor type for this router and that I have to get the right file, then try again.

SHARE
Answered By 0 points N/A #143411

Upgrading my Netgear DGN 1000 with custom firmware?

qa-featured

 

Hi Isabella,

By upgrading your firmware it will improve your wireless connection performance, or playing online games over a wireless connection, but before upgrading you need to make sure that your router is securely connected to a power supply. Don’t unplug or turn off your router while the power light is flashing. This might break your router permanently. I highly recommend that when you update your router use a wired connection. Wired connection is more stable and secure than wireless which might experience interruption when updating.

Here are the steps that you need to follow.

Set a wired connection from your router to your pc. As mentioned above wired connection is more convenient than wireless connection when updating.

Open up a browser, could be Mozilla, IE or Chrome. On the address bar type 192.168.0.1 hit Enter. You will be required to input your admin account and password.

Select router upgrade in the left menu. Your router will connect to the netgear upgrade server and look for the latest driver compatible to your router. Once your router fined that there is a firmware update available for your router, you will be given a list. Update by clicking ok.

Your router now is downloading and will install the firmware after. The power light will flash, while doing that do not disconnect the router.

When it’s done the router will restart and the flashing light will be solid green. That means that the update is a success.

Good luck

Login/Register to Answer

Related Questions