Removed Ubuntu OS but Dual Boot Option Still Appears on Startup

Asked By 0 points N/A Posted on -
qa-featured

I have installed Ubuntu 9.04 with Wubi inside Windows XP and when I start my PC there is an option menu which is asking what I want to use – Windows XP or Ubuntu. I uninstalled Ubuntu OS, but the option menu at start up is still there. What should I do?

SHARE
Best Answer by rickythomas
Best Answer
Best Answer
Answered By 0 points N/A #113197

Removed Ubuntu OS but Dual Boot Option Still Appears on Startup

qa-featured

I had this problem some times ago but a friend of mine just helped me I got rid of this problem. Now, I am submitting the solution for your problem.

There is enough information on the internet, but I will tell you shortly:

Follow these steps:-

  1. Right click on your My Computer icon,
  2. Hit Properties.
  3. Click on Advanced,
  4. Under Startup and Recovery hit on Settings,
  5. There must be an option – System Startup,
  6. Click on Edit.

This is an example:

 

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(1)rdisk(0)partition(1)WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(1)rdisk(0)partition(1)WINDOWS="Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)WINNT="Ubuntu 9.04" /fastdetect
 
You just delete the last line: multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)WINNT="Ubuntu 9.04" /fastdetect.
 
Simple as that.
Answered By 0 points N/A #113198

Removed Ubuntu OS but Dual Boot Option Still Appears on Startup

qa-featured

If the option is still there. You may have not uninstalled the other operating system properly. Otherwise it would have been removed from boot options already. Try to download Ubuntu again, the same version that you installed, and have it installed into your system again.

Once it is in, uninstall it using the uninstall utility that should have come with the Ubuntu installation (the same as the Uninstall options of other applications). The utility should be able to remove the installation itself as well as customer settings on the system that may have been added when you installed the second operating system.

Login/Register to Answer

Related Questions