Error on Backup using Vault 2011

Asked By 110 points N/A Posted on -
qa-featured

I am getting an error on Backup using Vault 2011

We backup our system by using Vault 2011. Now we are planning to upgrade to Vault 2012 on a different computer.

So we tried to back up our system by using the 2011 version.
 

I followed the instructions posted on the manual on how to migrate from version 2011 to version 2012.

I logged in as an administrator, went to the Vault that I wanted to backup, clicked on Backup and Validated the data, then selected drive C to save the backup. As instructed, I have unchecked the Backup Standard Content Center Libraries.  Please see the screenshots attached. When the data was being validated by the program, a very long error is displayed

Some subscriber workgroups are offline, or there are data changes that haven't yet been replicated between the publisher and the subscribers. Please ensure the subscribers are online, the SQL agent service is running on each subscriber and there may be a large number of data changes being replicated – this may take a while, especially on slower networks – please retry your operation later.

Failed to check pending changes from workgroup AUTODESKAUTODESKVAULT. Error a network related or instance specific error occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server. The server was not found or was not accessible. Verify that the instance name is correct, and that SQL server is configured to allow remote connections. (provider: SQL Network Interfaces, error: 26-error locating server/Instance Specified)"

I would appreciate any suggestions that you can give to resolve this issue.

Thank you!

SHARE
Answered By 0 points N/A #144562

Error on Backup using Vault 2011

qa-featured

Hi, there are some rules when you  create and restore backup in Vault 2011 before you migrate.

  1.  before you backup, you have to enable the vaults and replicate the data, because if you miss during the replication, and choose to continue the process, it will  automatically backup  because it is synchronized but you cannot access some  sites on the database. in addition the  process takes longer.  It is advised also that you will perform a and restore backup  single site in a multi environment.

 2. it is also advisable to perform back up in a server that has a close network proximity  to the SQL database

 3.  All data both in the file and database will be  overwritten once , it is restore. all remote data will be abandon and the vault  administrator has the option to delete files, to clean up.

 4.  Once the data  is restored, the site list  of multi environment that data  was not configured is empty,  but for configured, it is disabled for the remote but for the current, it is enabled.

 5.  Start the backup:

     a. launch the  Data Management Console> tools>backup and restore>next>log file>"backup history.txt"

      b. Select full or incremental back up (perform a full back up) because you can not do incremental if you did not do full back up

     c.  Perform full back up> finish

Login/Register to Answer

Related Questions